Why is flash not allowed in church during weddings?

Bluepoole

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey all

Reading through many of the topics in both the beginner and beyond basics forums, especially the ones related to wedding photography, I'm very curious - why is the use of flash in most instances not allowed in churches?

This seems to be the case in the USA, is this also applicable to other countries? Would be interesting to hear the comments of wedding photographers in Europe, Asia, etc.

I'm a wedding photographer from South Africa, and as a matter of courtesy always ask the minister weeks before the wedding if I may use flash in the church. I've never received a "no".

Even in all my years of attending weddings as a guest, the use of flash in the church and during the ceremony has never been disallowed.

So the purpose of this topic is to ask, why do so many churches in the USA have a no-flash policy?

It depends - these days many people have a little point and shoot camera or even more and at a wedding its often the case that everyone might very well bring their camera as well as the official photographer. This of course can be quite off putting for those in the lime light ( as it were) as they suddenly find themselves being flashed, clicked and bleeped from all angles during the service.

Thus I belive many have a police of limiting shots during the service - and of course this ranges from church to church. Some will have a police of no shots during the service, but will have a time near the end when people can take their own photos freely.