Why is lighting overexposed in my videos?

sk425

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone, my first post here so hopefully I am in the right section, apologies if not. I am fairly new to using a mirrorless camera but I just cannot figure out what I am doing wrong!

I have a Fujifilm X-T200 with the XC15-45mm standard kit lens. I am using it to film some vlog style videos indoors, but I am having an issue with lights in my apartment appearing overexposed in the footage. Part of my backdrop has those Nanoleaf light tiles that are RGB, and I have them set to a sort of golden/yellow colour but the camera just shows them as pure white when I record something. I have tried adjusting the shutter/aperture to no avail. I also read about adjusting the highlights and shadows in the quick menu, however those options only appear to be adjustable when shooting stills and are greyed out when in video mode. I cant seem to get the colours to show through post editing either which is also pretty new to me I must admit. What is frustrating is that my iPhone seems to pick up the colour accuracy of the lights perfectly its just obviously not able to produce the same quality footage as the Fujifilm.

Any ideas would be much much appreciated. Apologies if i missed out any important information but I will do my best to clarify if I have left something out.

:)

What is the ISO you're shooting at? Have you changed the EV for shooting video?