wireless flash

giblet

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm only new to this, but am thinking about wireless flash capability. I have a canon eos 350d and am looking at the yongnuo flash units. I understand that I will also need transmitter/ receiver (yongnuo rf603). which flash would be best? 565, 560 mk 3, 568 or none of the above?

getting confused with the master / slave terminology. do I need wireless transmitter/receiver and a master capable flash or will I get away with slave flash?

I would go with the newer yongnuo triggers that support TTL. (if you plan on using TTL) (yn622c)
the yongnuo triggers act as a transmitter OR a trigger, and if you have just the trigger on your camera, it automatically knows it is a transmitter.
I shoot Nikon not Canon, but I picked up a yongnuo 568EX and 622n triggers.
i went with the 568EX because it supports both TTL and HSS. i was pretty impressed with it, as well as the triggers.
i did a review on both of them.

http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/photography-equipment-products/338083-yn568ex-flash-review.html

http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/...ts/338720-yongnuo-yn-622n-trigger-review.html

would the ttl mode on the flash still work with the wireless trans/rec of only if mounted to the hot shoe?

would the ttl mode on the flash still work with the wireless trans/rec of only if mounted to the hot shoe?

The 568EX will TTL without a trigger.
They are TTL compatible with your camera by themselves. Assuming you get the right flash for your camera brand.

The 568ex does not have built in receivers though, so you have to have a trigger for each flash. Also, if you want to use a flash on camera, you will have to put a trigger on camera, and the flash on top of the trigger. All triggered flashes will TTL.