Wireless Remote not working for my Nikon D3100

milleyd

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
i own a new nikon D3100 and wanted to have a wireless remote. i bought the Pixel RW-221 wireless remote from eBay ( RW-221 Wireless Shutter Remote for Nikon D7000 D3100 | eBay ).
however, when i hook it up, it don't work! the remote and the receiver are both on the same channel and they both light up green when i push 1/2 ways down on the shutter button on the remote, and when i press fully down, both flash red which indicated a photo should have been taken. but this doesn't happen, the camera doesn't even focus! is there some kind of setting that i should have my camera on? i even contacted nikon and they said the 3100 doesn't support wireless and that i should have a MC-DC2, but the link i provided above says it should! help please!

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Why should Nikon provide support for a product that isn't even theirs?

i don't know?
im new to this and i only asked a question.

If you read the Nikon manual, I'll bet there something to this effect:

"Use Only Nikon Brand Electronic Accessories
Nikon digital single-lens reflex cameras are designed to the highest standards and include complex electronic circuitry. Only Nikon brand electronic accessories (including lenses, battery chargers, batteries, AC adapters, and flash accessories) certified by Nikon specifically for use with this Nikon digital single-lens reflex camera are engineered and proven to operate within the operational and safety requirements of this electronic circuitry."

It's legalese for "Don't use anything unless we make it. If you do, you can mess up your gear and we aren't responsible."

Does the company that makes the remote have some sort of support web site or phone number?

no, i ordered it from ebay and the instructions came in chinese, which is why im in the mess.