Wondering about consistently low exposure & vibrance

chexone

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi, I'm pretty new to all this cool stuff. I'm having a slight annoyance.

Here's some info: Body:
Canon 30D
Lenses: EF 70-200 4.0L, EF 50 1.8, Tamron 17-50 2.8

Problem:
My pictures come out consistently under-exposed and lacking in color, no matter which lense I use. I use Adobe Lightroom for post-production, and by adjusting the exposure and vibrance there, I get what I'm looking for, but I'm always having to make the same adjustments, it seems.

I'm either doing something wrong when taking the pics, or there's something wrong with the camera. I've tried playing around with Exposure compensation and some camera settings (Picture Style), but it doesn't seem to help much. I'm shooting mostly on Av to control the aperture.

Any ideas about this?
Before and after pics: http://www.flickr.com/photos/28705826@N07/sets/72157607345992868/

Thanks!

Last edited:
are you shooting in auto or manual mode?
I'm shooting in what they call the "Creative Zone" using Av. So not completely manual, just setting the aperture.

The original pic does look way under exposed. Looking at your exif data I see that the exposure bias is 0/3 EV. Also looking at your other pictures on your flickr it seems alot of your photos has the exposure bias. I'm guessing it's flash compensation so make sure you set that to 0. Also are you shooting in RAW or JPG? If you're in RAW then there usually is always some sort of PP. With JPG the camera adds some proccessing to the picture depending on what kind of style you choose. But I usually always do some sort of PP to all of my pictures.

Edit - After some research it seems that "Exposure Bias 0/3 ev" means 0. But what I don't understand is why my photos say Exposure Bias 0 ev.

Last edited: