Worklights from hardware store?

^ Lighten up and read the first post. It doesn't appear that the OP is looking to impress anyone, rather just trying to boost lighting a bit. No wedding photogs will be harmed.
That is correct. I'm not an aspiring professional, just a guy looking to improve indoor lighting for the purpose of taking better pics.

A shoplight against a reflective surface will expand your horizons a little, but soon you'll be itching to move on to something more powerful, more comfortable and less cumbersome.

You might consider an inexpensive flash and wireless trigger system like this:
Yongnuo YN-460 YN460 Flash Speedlight/Speedlite for Canon Nikon Pentax Olympus Sony | YongNuo photo equipment online store
Yongnuo RF-603 RF603 Flash Trigger | YongNuo photo equipment online store
That's a lot less expensive for a flash than I had imagined. I assume an inexpensive flash like that is still much more powerful than the flash on my m4/3 Panasonic G3?

I guess boosting indoor lighting with fixed lights seems easier than using a flash for a newb in the sense that I can see how the light bounces off the subject. But maybe I just need to spend the time and learn to use a flash.
For that you need fast lenses
I've heard people argue both sides of this. I.e., some say you need fast lenses, and others say a kit lens with good lighting is more important than a fast lens. Not sure what to think.

That's a lot less expensive for a flash than I had imagined. I assume an inexpensive flash like that is still much more powerful than the flash on my m4/3 Panasonic G3?

I guess boosting indoor lighting with fixed lights seems easier than using a flash for a newb in the sense that I can see how the light bounces off the subject. But maybe I just need to spend the time and learn to use a flash.