wrong lens or broken camera

Wild Orchid

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, my name is Amy and this is my first post here. I am in desperate need of some help and would appreciate all input.

I have just bought my first SLR, it's a digital Fuji FinePix S1 Pro that I got for a steal off ebay. It did not come with a lens. It does however take Nikon/Nikkor lenses and has a Nikon F mount.

I did my research as best I could to find a good but affordable lens, and I found a Tamron 70-210mm f/3.8~4 Adaptall 2 Lens that I thought would work on the camera in manual mode. I was excited to get this lens because it seems to be good for macro work, and this is what I am really interested in doing. I knew the auto stuff wouldn't work with the Fuji but I thought the manual mode would, as far as I could tell if everything was in manual the lens should still work, although I may be wrong about that. I am no expert, just getting started, so I thought maybe someone here could help. Here is the info on the lens, if any of you would like to take a look:
Tamron lens

So I got my camera, got the batteries put in, and couldn't wait to get the lens so I could try it out! I waited impatiently for about a week. I had heard you were not supposed to push the shutter without a lens on it so I didn't even try it, although I read later that the Fuji has a safeguard to protect the camera, that the shutter will not release or something to that effect.