You guys probably get these kind of threads all the time...

Stussy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
But I need some serious help. I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right section of the forum so excuse me if I'm in the wrong.

Well, the thing is I want to buy a DSLR. I'm no camera expert, I don't have a degree in photography and the closest I've come to the hobby is taking pictures with my phone/digicam.

Basically I want to move up and take pictures that are of better quality than the crap I usually take. The problem I have with my digital camera is that the pictures come out too dark when I'm taking pictures whilst clubbing or indoors.

For example this picture. There's way too much 'noise' (I think that's what you photo guys call it) and not enough detail.

n506382240_65341_8618.jpg

95ufih.jpg

I want to be able to take photos like these.

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2105/200/4/514163914/n514163914_1315400_4084.jpg

http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphoto..._105720472240_506382240_1863648_1933895_n.jpg

The best one which seems to be in my budget is the Canon 500D with an 18-55m IS Lense. I know the bundled lense isn't top but remember I just want it for general picture taking for a quality upgrade to what my camera currently dishes out. Would the 500D with 18-55m lense, be able to take pictures like these? Or are there any competitors around the £579 price range?

Sorry if this post has been a bore but I've been meaning to get one for months and I've come to a conclusion to get one for the New Year, please help.

Last edited:
You're not allowed to post images that aren't yours, because of copyright laws, but you can link to them.

The 500D and that lens is a good start but I think either the Nikon D5000 or D90 would work better in clubs and indoors because they both have better low-light ISO performance.