35mm focus help

deanos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
:1219:Hi

Newbie here.

I own a nikon d5300 and have purchased a 35mm f 1.8 for the holiday that I'm currently on. I have a good basic knowledge of my camera but I'm having problems understanding how to get the best out of my new lens in order to maximise focus against the bokeh

My example being: a woman holding aloft an umbrella. The blur is great but the umbrella is in focus and the woman is not.

Same as a flower, the leaves closer to me are in focus but the rest of the plant is not.

Please help as it's ruining my holiday photos.

Plus is there anyway on any sort of program that I can sharpen theses sort of images to get the required affect ?

Thanks

It sounds like you're shooting with the lens wide or nearly wide open (at maximum aperture). This will result in a very shallow depth of field or amount of the scene that's in focus. To get more in focus, use a smaller aperture (larger f #). Read more here.

^^ as mentioned above
You need to learn more about what the aperture setting it.
It's not ONLY about letting in more light
but also Depth of Field .....

So you need to test and learn about it
Go find a long fence - a standard wire fence
Get next to it about a 45 degree angle.
set your aperture to f/1.8

use a Single Focus Point focusing - learn the different focusing points on your camera.
Learn each one and how to use it because your camera apparently liked the umbrella and focused on it. (with single focus point then aim it at her eye, don't let the camera decide for you)

focus on one point in the fence - such as add a ribbon or something to that point for distinction.

Then take shots at f/1.8, f/2.8, f.4, f5.6, f8, f/11, f/22 or anywhere you heart desires

First look at the smallest and largest aperture .. such as f/1.8 versus f/22
Notice the difference in what is in focus.

Then look at f/1.8 vs f/11
then f/1.8 vs f/4
f/1.8 vs f/2.8

That is Depth Of Field