Just starting out. Interested in shooting talent (models, actors). But my photos look flat. Help me?

m_anderson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm just starting out in the world of photography. I want to focus on fashion, models, and actor headshots. I was told I need to invest in professional equipment, most important being the camera (full frame). But most full frame cameras are very expensive and out of my budget. Right now I'm using a Canon Rebel T4i with kit lens. My photos are not looking the way I want them too. They look flat. I've tried everything, even using the pop up flash. What are the best camera settings to make your photos come alive? I found this video on YouTube and it really caught my attention, the photographer is using a $599 Canon 60D (which I'm told has the same 18mp sensor as my camera), yet his images pop off the screen and are glowing.... How is this possible?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

-Megan

Welcome to the forum. You'll get better advice if you post some of your shots. There are no "best camera settings to make your photos come alive."

The camera body is in fact the LEAST important factor in the equation. In order of priority: Lighting, lens, and body. Check out Adorama's 'Flashpoint' line of studio lights which are a good, budget entry into lighting (cheaper and more versatile than many speedlights). I can't play the YouTube video you've linked to, but I can tell just from the first frame that I see he/she is using multiplie lights and large modifiers.

As mentioned above, posting a couple of examples along with your lighting will help us guide you much better. Settings are situation dependant - I can tell you mine 85mm f1.4 lens @ f8, ISO 100, 1/250 of a second, but unless you have 3-5 studio lights in the equation as well, it's not going to do anything for you.

Will my camera flash be enough? can i adjust the power of my camera flash?