5D mkii underexposing?

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by guitarkid, May 11, 2009.

  1. guitarkid

    guitarkid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chicago
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    i'm not sure what it is but most of the shots i take with mkii are underexposed. i always shoot M and never had an issue with any of my previous canon bodies. i've had the 20d, 30d, 40d, 50d, 5d. if i set for iso, say iso1600 for indoors, and F5.6, and shutter, doesn't matter.....the meter is always in the middle, set for proper exposure...it comes out dark!

    i then set to full auto to see what the cam would select. it chooses iso 800....half as much for indoors! the F is the same, and shutter a little different, and the shot looks great. i don't get it.

    with any of my other bodies i have always started with iso, 100 usually outside, and 800 to 1000 indoors, then Fstop based on DOF and shutter accordingly. this is how i have done it for years. this mkii is just not cooperating.

    bottom line..... regardless of settings, the meter is showing correct exposure but it's underexposed. maybe i need to jack the exp. comp setting or something, but i never had to do that before.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2009
  2. tsaraleksi

    tsaraleksi New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greencastle Indiana
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Just figure out how the meter is reading then keep that in mind when setting your exposure. You needn't be a slave to the center of the dial.

    What meter mode do you have it in, by the by?
     
  3. guitarkid

    guitarkid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chicago
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    using defaults...right from the factory.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2009
  4. Do'Urden's Eyes

    Do'Urden's Eyes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mississauga, ON
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    That is bizarre. Contact canon about it see if they can suggest anything.
     
  5. soylentgreen

    soylentgreen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    I have an over-exposeure problem. Sorta. My shots metered in the center are usually blown out in evaluative mode. Spot metering is an improvement, but I lose detail in the shadows. I pretty much shoot -1 EV and lighten in post. My 40D is spot on compared to the 5D mark II. Dunno if it's the FF and resolution. I should pick Canon's brain about this.
     
  6. rufus5150

    rufus5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    I don't have a 5d, but my XTi consistently under exposes even really easy to meter scenes 1/3rd-2/3rds of a stop low. Not that this helps you in the slightest but when I contacted canon, they said that that was normal.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
5d mark iii underexposure issue
,
5d mark iii underexposure problem
,
5d mark ii underexpose
,

5d mark ii underexposing

,
430ex ii 5dm2 always showing underexposed
,
canon 5d mark ii got underexposed
,

canon 5d mark ii underexposure

,
canon 5d mii underexposing
,
canon 5d mkii under expose
,
how to meter with 5d mkii