700$+- dslr canon or nikon, hit me...

Pardos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Thanks guys... (;

You might want to put some more context to this. First up where do you live? Multiple countries have $ but not all have the same value in the market.

Then there is the use of the camera - what exactly are you ideas and aspirations. What is it you want the camera to do for you.

I will buy the camera from the USA, maybe on amazon.

I have some experience with photography. I studied photography for 2 years as part of my graphic design degree (4semesters of beginners courses, studio and advanced). I need it for school now and for my future projects as well as normal usage--traveling, etc.

I would like it to have hd video capabilities with sound if my price tag allows it... I'm clearly not focusing on video but it's a nice feature to have...

Thanks!

Nikon D5200 with its kit lens sounds around your price range, excellent camera!!!

I bought Nikon D3300, doing good photos, but i am amateur in photography

Enough for a used Canon 5D on eBay - with the "nifty fifty" (i.e. 50mm f1.8) ! :)

P.s.: I just realized, I shouldnt joke around in a newbie thread when the newbie might not know I'm joking. Sorry about that.

Last edited:
used/refurbished d7000 with kit lens.

I can't recommend strongly enough that you go handle a couple of these cameras if there's any way you can do so. The control layouts are going to be different from one camera to the next, and even though Canon & Nikon share a family resemblance as you move from one model to the next, one of the things both lines have in common is that the higher-end cameras, typically being a little larger than entry-level cameras, tend to provide more dedicated controls & buttons for all the stuff you're going to have to manipulate when you're shooting.