a little frustrated

Susan1114

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I'm realizing that I have no mechanical photographic skills. Sure I can compose well and I love to capture shots. The good ones I take are by accident. But I want to do more.

I'd love to hear how some of you became the great photographers you are. How did all this technical talk make sense? I can understand 1/2 the conversations on here because it's all in acronyms. LOL.

I'm in Colorado and if any of you know of a good photography school/class feel free to send me a note.

Thanks. I'm looking forward to your stories.

thanks again,
Susan

I feel your pain. I'm pretty new to the dSLR thing as well. It gets discouraging sometimes when I venture out of the auto mode, but I know I have to to get the most out of my camera.

I'm slowly starting to understand how my camera works, so now it's time to learn when to fiddle with the aperture, ISO, shutterspeed, etc. and how they work in combination with each other.

A lot of people have recommended the Scott Kelby books on Digital Photography (which I have ordered from Amazon--around $30 for both). Hopefully the "light will come on" soon.

Good luck to you!!!

You're on the right track. A forum such as this can infect you with the desire to better yourself and give you ideas.

You can also post your shots for others to critique, so long as you have thick enough skin to read everything with a grain of salt but still incorporate some of the ideas presented.

It's all about the passion.........With today's digital cameras, you can shoot hundreds of shots and toss those you don't like, bracket everything, process until you go bonkers, and except for the equipment, there is very little cost..