The_Traveler

Completely Counter-dependent
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
www.lewlortonphoto.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been shooting pretty seriously since 2007 with some ascending skills in shooting and editing.

I know my own capability and I would never take on a wedding.
I wonder if I am a coward or are people with just a year or so of experience who start shooting for money just that much braver than I.

I don't think it is cowardice. People with little experience shoot weddings because they don't know what they don't know. Ignorance is bliss (until the clients REALLY don't like what they got). On the other hand, I suspect your photographic standards would be much higher than most people who could be buying wedding photos from you - and in that you'd be critical of stuff that they may be very happy with. I think "most" wedding parties are not looking for cutting-edge photographic perfection (and probably won't recognize it if they saw it), they want some nice pictures to remember the event by in which they and their guests look good.

I refuse ALL commission work.

Period.

It's easier to be brave when you're clueless.

Joe

maybe you just aren't the commercial shooter type. And maybe they just need the money more than you do.

I'd call you smart. They aren't fun.

I have never shot a wedding. I get requests all the time and typically I tell them that I am the absolutely last person you want to shoot a wedding. A wedding photog is supposed the make the bride beautiful and slim and the groom manly and handsome. The photojournalist calls 'em as he sees 'em.

It's a little bit of everything.

Joe

Is very true - when you don't know something you don't have any idea of what it is that you don't know - so yes its very easy to be bold and confident and make a total pigs ear of it.