Bay Area Landscape

glassbuilt

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
HI! I'm relatively new to photography so any critique tips or tricks would all be much appreciated!
IMG_2710.jpg

This was taken somewhere near the Golden Gate Bridge at ISO 100, 24mm, and f2.8. I think my f stop should have been a little higher? I'm not exactly sure if that is recommended for sort of landscapes

Although that is a great lens, 2.8 is not as good as, say, f5.6 or f8 just to ensure that image quality (IQ) is the best.
You have lots of room in both the shutter speed and the ISO.
In terms of this exposure exactly, the middle tones look sort of muddy and indistinct and the contrast is rather low.

data-plus.jpg

In terms of composition, it seems to me that it would be stronger if there were more at the bottom, (to give the appearance of 'from here to out there') and more on the left to give the feeling of being open to the wild bay. (altho the bay isn't that wild.) Not much would be lost of the sky, there is plenty left.

Good attempt, keep it up.
(I can't figure out where that was taken from, maybe the parking lot at the city side of the Golden Gate bridge? or partway across the bridge?)

Lew

IMG_2710lllll.jpg

Lew said it right. I'm in San José, welcome to another bay area enthusiast.

Although that is a great lens, 2.8 is not as good as, say, f5.6 or f8 just to ensure that image quality (IQ) is the best.
You have lots of room in both the shutter speed and the ISO.
In terms of this exposure exactly, the middle tones look sort of muddy and indistinct and the contrast is rather low.

View attachment 94023

In terms of composition, it seems to me that it would be stronger if there were more at the bottom, (to give the appearance of 'from here to out there') and more on the left to give the feeling of being open to the wild bay. (altho the bay isn't that wild.) Not much would be lost of the sky, there is plenty left.

Good attempt, keep it up.