Being Photogenic - ??

teamtoken

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Ok, quite a different topic at hand this one, but still relevant. im new to photography, and have borrowed my friends nikon d50 for the week to play around with it and see what its like using a dslr.

Decided to take a few self portraits of myself and couldnt help but notice that every picture i took just didnt look like the real me. i took shots a variety of shots and still just didnt look natural, even normal enough. For some reason my face looks fatter, unproportional, my nose looks bigger and face generally looks more dull & uncharacteristic to what i see in the mirror. i used my standard consumer panasonic lumix digital camera and same sort of thing. Thinking this is what i really look like i asked family what they thought and most of them agreed "you can take better shots than that"

So im asking you good forum users, is there techniques, tips, tricks that i can make to get proper, natural self portraits. i know that when it comes to photography theres an endless amount of variables in what can make a good photo, but there must be a common technique in how to get that proper shot.

anyhow thanks for reading my rant, any help is much appreciated. Thanks guys! :wink:

Agree with prodigy that we would really need to see some captures to see what you are describing.

So here's a WAG. You had straight on flash (no shadows or highlights - everything flattened out) and a low camera angle (if you can see up your own nose the camera was probably too low).

For some reason my face looks fatter, unproportional, my nose looks bigger
Sounds like the focal length was pretty short (wide angle) and that you were too close to the camera.

Try using a longer focal length and setting further back.

Sounds like the focal length was pretty short (wide angle) and that you were too close to the camera.

Try using a longer focal length and setting further back.