Camera recommendations?

3CROWS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've started to sell some of my photography prints locally and I wanted to expand that, so I was just checking out Getty Images except I saw that they want camera RAW files and I'm just using a Nikon Coolpix L100, so it's looking like all my previous work is a no go for that.

I'm just looking for some professional recommendations on what I should be looking for as an upgrade.

Thanks

Cameras that can capture images as RAW data file run anywhere from $500 to $150,000.

What price range are you looking at?

Professional level cameras start at about $3000 not including lenses.

Last edited:
Well definitely not the $150,000 range! haha
I'm not a professional by any means, more a hobby photographer but I've been told I've got some good stuff. So I think anywhere between $500-$1500 or so, give or take.

Here's some of the stuff I've done: 3CROWS: photography
Don't know if that gives a better idea for recommendations?

I believe all of the DSLR camera are capable of shooting RAW. (At least all of them I seen in person or from the web). And some of the high end Point and Shoot type cameras such as the Canon G series (i.e. G11) are also able to save image in RAW format.

If you do not mind carry the photo gears and change the lenses (which is the beauty of SLR cameras), I will say go with the DSLR or SLR type camera.

If you shot all of those photos with a P & S, I'd say invest in a good DSLR. You've got a very good eye for compostion in my humble opinion. :)

Depends on how comitted you are to the photography end of your business.

I own a Nikon D300. Great camera.

I'm saving up for a D700. But, that means going from DX to FX lenses. (cropped sensor vs. full frame sensor) Fx lenes are a much bigger investment. Just something for you to consider.

Good luck!

Dan

Well definitely not the $150,000 range! haha