Canon 40D VS Nikon D80

garrettm

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm trying to figure out which one to buy. Now i've done my fair share of research on each but im still stuck. Now I'm leaning torwards the Canon because the 6.5 fps and all the positive reviews ive been reading and watching. I just wouldnt mind some opinions.

I will throw out there that i am an amateur and have had some photography classes so am familiar and comfortable with all the manual functions a dslr comes with.

I will mostly be taking pictures of sports, landscape, and family/friends.

If there any other suggestions for a different camera other than these two, by all means feel free to speak up.

The 40D should wipe the floor with the D80 in just about every category. I think it might be a bit more even between the 40D and D90.

I'm trying to figure out which one to buy. Now i've done my fair share of research on each but im still stuck. Now I'm leaning torwards the Canon because the 6.5 fps and all the positive reviews ive been reading and watching. I just wouldnt mind some opinions.

I will throw out there that i am an amateur and have had some photography classes so am familiar and comfortable with all the manual functions a dslr comes with.

I will mostly be taking pictures of sports, landscape, and family/friends.

If there any other suggestions for a different camera other than these two, by all means feel free to speak up.
i'm a newcomer, but if you're planning on sports, then go with the canon. there is no way you can do without the extremely fast autofocus and quick continuous shot it will offer...nikons are not particularly designed for sports

Yeah, thats why im leaning torwards it.
Now does Canon have quick AF lenses as well?

Yep, which one to get depends on your budget. Just read reviews to see what lenses are suited to what.

the 40d is in between the d90 and the d300.