Cop attacks cameraman.

RMThompson

the TPF moderators rock my world!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I don't know the background on this video at all, for all I know it could be fake.

However it seems to be legit, and shows what happens sometimes when a Police Officer decides the rights of another person are not important.

AGAIN: I want to make it clear I have NO IDEA the background on the video, and there could be a legitimate reason the officer needed to "take down" the camera man... he could have been threatening, could be brandishing a weapon, I just simply don't know.

LINK:

http://www.break.com/index/cop-attacks-cameraman.html

EDIT: After watching it again, it seems that the camera man is merely filming what's going on, and the officer asks him for his name, to which the cameraman does the same. Regardless, the officer seems to be in no harm, and does not ask the cameraman to do anything or warns him before attacking him.

Wow, there is more information than I thought:

Last edited by a moderator:
Thats outrageous. That cop should lose his job and go to prison for that. For god sakes, the cameraman was just standing there!

Hmmm treading closely with this thread:

http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=124733

As I said in that thread, Police officers and Law Enforcement in general has a really bad PR campaign that is really off track. There is no way LE in general is going to have the public's trust until corrected.

What I did find REALLY interesting is that someone who claims to be a police officer added this tidbit to the comments section of the youtube page:

"I am an officer and I am reluctant to be critical of another officer but I think there is enough evidence to say he crossed the line. Photographers have certain rights."