Dark view finder on Mamiya RZ67

SoulfulRecover

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
The other day I was shooting some portraits with my Mamiya RZ67 in the "studio" and was having a bit of a hard time focusing because of how dark the view finder was. I flipped on the modeling lamp for my strobe but even then it was still a bit difficult. During the day, outside, Ive never had a problem by any means. Is there something I can do about this for studio shooting? Ive heard people talk about after market ground glass and what not but I have no knowledge of even where to start when looking into that. If it makes a difference, I have the eye level viewfinder with a built in metering system. Any tips or tricks are appreciated.

A new focusing screen may help (FWIW, "ground glass" normally refers to the glass viewing surface in a view camera), but one of the downsides of MF work is that the lenses are inherently slower than they are for 35mm work; there just aren't too many 1.4 and 1.8 lenses, which makes the viewfinder darker than you may be used to, especially inside a studio, which is normally dim to begin with.

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Thank you for the information. Maybe a split focusing screen would help. Or I just need to run some real power into the studio and get some lights going. I had two over head lights running in the end along with the modeling lamp. Ill have the negatives back this evening so Ill be able to see if I got anything in focus.

A WLF might lighten things up. Test the brightness with the prism finder removed. I have a RB67 Pro S and find the prism a bit dark sometimes for studio shooting. Have on occasion with taller subjects used a crate to get above the WLF when the camera was at their eye level. My prism finder is fine outdoors. Bright screens are pricey and not IMHO worth the extra $$$.