Dealing with focus issue...

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by deedubss123, Nov 6, 2017.

1. deedubss123

deedubss123 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I have been a photographer for two years and just recently, wondering why my photos aren't tack sharp with my specific lens. Its 24-70 2.8 Canon. I shoot with a Canon Mark IV.

This photo was taken this past weekend of a large group and I feel like the image isnt tack sharp. It seems very soft and almost noisy to me. What could I possibly be doing wrong for it to be like this? I was standing about 5 feet from the group.

Using my 24-70 2.8 lens - I was at 33mm, F/5.6 , 1/320 ISO 800 - I was standing probably 5 feet in front of them. How come the image seems soft. Is it b/c of my meter or AF points? I focused on boy in front, assuming focus would fall behind and hit everyone else, correct? Any veterans have advice?

2. deedubss123

deedubss123 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    SOOC

Attached Files:

3. DGMPhotography

DGMPhotography Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    What type of focus are you using? You should be using single-point focus if you're not already.

4. Overread

Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    It's kind of hard to tell at the size you've uploaded, which looks decently sharp.
    You need to upload a crop of a section of it that is showing your sharpness whilst the image is at full size (a 100% crop). That way we can see what you're seeing fullsize; as opposed to a resized version for the net

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. Derrel

Derrel Mr. Rain Cloud

Photos OK to edit
    On my phone. It looks like high ISO a d not focus. And Five feet at 33mm????That is a horrible distance and focal length for a group photo, guaranteed to cause foteshortening.looking at the photo I would say that your estimate of your distance is incorrect.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. jcdeboever