Dipping my foot in the water: What's a good approach?

PaulWog

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm enjoying photography quite a bit. I've been shooting for about three months now. My shutter count on my D5200 is about 7000 now, and I've really learned a lot. I've been on my computer researching and learning for at least a couple hours a day for the past three months, so I've really put in a lot of time into the hobby. I know I still have lots to learn, and I expect to spend at the bare minimum another six-twelve months before I start taking real steps toward trying to make money (if I do at all) out of photography.

What I'm wondering is this: What's a good way to dip my foot into getting into photography part-time (and paid)? I'm a full-time University student (23 years old), and I'd love to do a little photography for money, even if it's only one shoot every month or two. I don't exactly want to start a thriving business on the get-go.

I know the type of gear that I'll need to pick up and the money that I'll need to invest, but I don't know which type of work might be best to start with if I'm looking to only begin semi-casually?

Look on Craigslist. There are always people on their looking for a budget photographer. Either make an add (great because it is free) or just look for people looking for someone. Usually you won't get paid much but it's a start.

If you can do some work with another photographer that is more established as a second shooter/ assistant. Great learning experience. I have done it for free just to learn and trust me as my first job it was a awesome learning experience. And I also got a paying job out of it. The photographer had a client that didn't want to pay him his quote so he referred me and I ended up shooting the gradution party for my first paying gig. And it was solo so another learning experience.