fiddling with exposures

Jono

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
just realised my little Easyshare had an exposure adjustment function from -2.0 to +2.0 (i'm new to this so bear with me!) so had a fiddle & took some shots of the fire in our lounge. Some look better than others and some are just bad. I cant remember which was what exposure was used on what picture. Can someone explain to me what the exposure actually does in laymans terms & how I can use this to my advantage.Thanks in advance.

1:
100_0567.jpg

2:
100_0566.jpg

3::(in black & white)
100_0560.jpg

4:
100_0559.jpg

5:
100_0556.jpg

6:
100_0557.jpg

You should go in and edit your url paste and seperate each image on a different line instead of all together to make this a little easier to read to start off.:thumbup: Exposure as best I know is a combination of shutter speed,aperature,and ISO .when all these come together you have an exposure.Kinda like time+volume+sensitivity=exposure.
if you want something over exposed you could increase the time the shutter is open,or increase the size of the aperture(volume),or increase the sensitivity of the sensor/film.reverse any one or more of these to underexpose.
Someone else on here may be able to epxplain it better than me though.:thumbup:

Somehow you must expose your film (or sensor, for that matter) to light. Else it would always be in the total dark and nothing would happen.

And you expose it to light through the lens of your camera.
In that lens, something will open for either a fraction of a second or - in the case of long exposures - a whole second or even several seconds, half a minute, for as long as you like (which will not be possible with your Easyshare), etc.

So you have the time value of exposing your film/sensor to light.

Then you can open the little hole (opening = aperture) more or less.