Finding an assistant position

Pariah

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm wondering what is the best way to go about getting a job as an assistant. I've got a list of local photographers that I like. Should I just show up with my portfolio and resume? Call first and ask if they're even looking for an assistant? E-mail and letter writing is out, because it seems far too easy for those to just get stuck in the trash can or deleted. I have experience and a good portfolio, I've been selling photos for a few years, I have a degree in digital media (did lots of photography, retouching, design, etc.), excellent Photoshop skills, and excellent references from previous employers who will tell photographers that I'm a very hard worker. I have a decent amount of customer service/retail/sales experience, too.

I feel like my chances are pretty good, but I don't want to mess up my first impression and come off as unprofessional or desperate.

Also, assistants usually get paid, right? I know I'm not going to get rich doing this, and that's perfectly fine, but we're on a bit of a tight budget, so a paid position would definitely be good. If it were unpaid, I'd be limited to evenings and weekends...which wouldn't be bad, but a full-time position is what I'm going for.

I don't see a problem with calling them up and asking if they would consider hiring an assistant. Be ready to make an appointment with them or offer to E-mail them with more info and a link to your on-line portfolio.

They might not have time to talk to you, when you call...but if you e-mail or send them something, they can look at it, at their leisure. They should be much less likely to throw it out because you have already introduced yourself.