Help with action photos!

Mommypics

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all! I am a total beginner! My daughter does competative cheer and I have tried (unsuccessfully) quite a few times to take pics at the competitions. They always come out blurry, with strange colors streaks. I am trying to use the "sport" mode (since they are jumping and flipping). I was told to change my ISO, which I did, but that didn't work. Help...I'm so lost :lmao::(

Can you post some examples (preferably with exif data as well)? That would help tremendously with any advise we have to offer. Right of the bat, I'm thinking that your shutter speed probably isn't fast enough.

Are you shooting at night? Are you shooting with a fast lens? What does your shutter speed look like?

To quote Bryan Petersons Understanding Exposure:

When you want to freeze any moving subject, you need to consider three factors: The distance between you and the subject, the direction in which the subject is moving and your lens choice. First determine how far you are from the action. Ten feet? One hundred feet? The closer you are to the action, the faster the shutter speed must be. Next determine if the action is moving toward or away from you. Then decide which lens is the most appropriate one.

For example, if you were photographing a bronco rider at a distance of ten to twenty feet with a wide angle lens, you have to use a shutter speed of 1/500 sec. to freeze the action. If you were at a distance of one hundred feet with a wide angle or normal lens, his size and motion would diminish considerably, so a shutter speed of 1/125 sec. would be sufficient. If you were at a distance of fifty feet with a 200mm telephoto lens, 1/500 sec. would be necessary (just as if you were ten feet from the action). Finally, you'd need a shutter speed of 1/1000 sec. if the bronco rider were moving parallel to you and filled the frame either through your lens or your ability to physically close.