Help with HDR

ftacnikaustin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Okay, so I'm wondering If I am capable of making an HDR. Pretty new to photography and really like the look of HDR.

Here's my equipment

Canon 20D
50mm 1.8
Adobe Lightroom
Gimp

So do you think I can make an HDR using this equipment? If so, how? What setting's do I need to use? I'm pretty much always shooting in manual. I have no clue how to do this :confused: How do I shoot 3 different exposures?

Also will these programs (Lightroom and Gimp) work for putting the images together? If so, how?

Please remember I'm pretty new to photography so some things just go right over my head.

Sorry, I know this is a lot of information. So any help is appreciated.

You can start by just testing with a photo you already have. In lightroom change the picture from its original to +2 and -2 exposure and save each. Its just a setting.
Then get photomatix demo and load the 3 exposures. Generate HDR, and when its done tonemap it.
If you shoot raw photomatix will automatically convert for you if you want and you can skip the lightroom.
With your camera you should be able to change expsore to + and - values. you would just take the same shot 3 or more times at different exposure settings

What do you mean by the "look of HDR"?

I suggest you pick up the book "Understanding Exposure." It will do you a world of good.

To do HDR you will need to do bracketing, google how to do it on your camera on youtube. Also you will need a program like Photomatrix, not sure if LightRoom can do the job, google that also. Photomatrix is around 30 dollars.

You can start by just testing with a photo you already have. In lightroom change the picture from its original to +2 and -2 exposure and save each. Its just a setting.
Then get photomatix demo and load the 3 exposures. Generate HDR, and when its done tonemap it.