Hood? Filter?

Sarah23

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Ok...so as a newbie I didnt know about hoods and filters until a couple weeks ago. So are they worth it? Do you use a UV filter all the time when shooting outside? Can you use a filter and a hood at the same time??

TIA!

Ok...so as a newbie I didnt know about hoods and filters until a couple weeks ago. So are they worth it? Do you use a UV filter all the time when shooting outside? Can you use a filter and a hood at the same time??

TIA!

My opinion is that hoods are always a good idea and that they're even more important when using a filter. That's because the surface of a filter is flat, rather than curved like the front surface of a bare lens. Consequently, stray light is not deflected.

With digital photography, the only filter that's really worthwhile is a polarizing filter and, in this day and age with auto-focus and auto-exposure, it had better be a circular polarizer.

so im guessing that causes more glare?

The only filters I use are a circular polarizer and ND filters when they are needed for what I am shooting.

A hood for me is a requirement not an option. I also use the manufacturers recommended hood. They are designed for the lens to work the best with the particular lens and will provide good protection.

The only exception to this rule is when I am shooting in a sports venue that requires me to use a softer rubber hood in case the action happens to get real up close and personal. No need to get a player hurt with a hard lens hood.

ok, thanks so much!

The only filters I use are a circular polarizer and ND filters when they are needed for what I am shooting.

A hood for me is a requirement not an option. I also use the manufacturers recommended hood. They are designed for the lens to work the best with the particular lens and will provide good protection.