How to fix photo with white shirts!

Reyna

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been practicing a ton lately. My bff had me do a few photos of her family at the park and they both came with white shirts on! I can't seem to fix it in PS even though I took them in RAW.

Is there anything I can do to fix them or did I just mess them up??!! Here is an example....

212bxoz.jpg

It's pretty much all blown out with no info. I would try to lower the exposure in that area and burn it and see if you can get it to work.
tj

It's pretty much all blown out with no info. I would try to lower the exposure in that area and burn it and see if you can get it to work.
tj

What info is needed? I know how to lower the exposure once in JPEG, or are you talking about before converting while still in RAW? I have no idea about burning it.... I have never done that before!

I didn't shoot with a flash and it was in RAW so I don't know how I would have gone about taking them properly.

No info, means there is no image data (info) in those areas that can be recovered.

They should not have been in direct sunlight. Look at how hard the shadows are behind them. You had them facing almost directly into the Sun. In this situation the only way to get a good exposure on the shirts is to spot meter them. But then their faces will be to dark. Side light is much more flattering but you have to use a reflector or fill flash on the camera for the shadow side.

With the Sun that low but comming from the side, a friend or assistant could have held a diffuser so the side light wasn't so harsh. It would have made making the exposure much easier.

Keep practicing. It's ok to make mistakes, we all do.

Last edited:
He meant that you needed to lower the exposure settings on the camera...before taking the photo.