i need some comments & criticism

keystervr6

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
i'm just beginning to get into photography...i've got a kodak point and shoot that has shutter, aperture, and manual modes, and it seems to do well in good lighting...tell me what you think

100b4260.jpg

100b4281.jpg

100b4300.jpg

Hiya Keyster, welcome to ThePhotoForum.
Any member - newcomers to the forum, beginners in the field of photography, long standing members, seasoned photographers - just any member is welcome to showcase their photos in one of our galleries, while The Beginners' Place is a room for questions and answers that a beginner to the hobby might want to ask. OK?
So I moved your thread to the General Gallery.

Sorry that I cannot say much about the photos as such since I am so very NOT into car photography.

Hmmm... I guess my main comment would relate to depth of field. The lighting and composition of your images is good, particularily #1, but there is too much depth of field. With the car in this type of setting I would try to re-shoot with a shallower depth of field, placing the background less in focus, and thereby not competing with the subject for attention.

Although Tirediron is right, I have a feeling your depth of field is at its lowest for a point-and-shoot camera. I, too, have this same problem, and at f2.8 my depth of field is like an f8 on a digital... its horrible...

Given this, I would get a less cluttered background. Your car is REALLY nice, with good, clean lines (is that a Jetta?), and your angles are good, but your background is waaaay too distracting. Take this car someplace without the meters, doors, and the huge power box, and your photo's quality will increase TENFOLD! Keep it near a wall or a building, as it makes a great backdrop, just pick one that's simpler