iPad as a portfolio?

indeedies

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm just a fledgling photographer doing a few shoots every once in a while but I'm working my way up to the professional league. As soon as I saw the iPad the other day on a tv commercial all I could think about was how I could upload images on it and show potential clients that I meet, clients during a proofing session, or other ways to showcase my work.

What do you professionals to do this as a living think? Does anyone have a digital portfolio (besides a laptop) to show your work?

Thanks for your time and comments.

Last edited by a moderator:
I was thinking the same thing. seems like it might be kind of cool. If I was with a photographer and they pulled out the ipad instead of a book, I would think it was prett neat

I would use it to show people on the road, but NEVER try to do a sales or ordering appoitnment with one. You need to PROJECT and to walk your clients through all the sizes, you will have a tough time trying to sell a suitable wall size portrait if what they first saw was the screen on the ipad. But would be SUPER cool to have with you at networking events, take on the road (Depending on the kind of work you want to do.) We're portrait photogs and have been doing projection for the last 4 years. With a $1000 projector from best buy and Pro Select. Sales have skyrocketed. Good Luck!

If I was going for the "cool factor", I'd pass on the ipad and go for a tablet laptop.

iPad would probably have a nice bit of wow factor (at least for a while, until they become old news) but I don't think that you can calibrate the display, which might be troublesome for something like photography.

If I was going for the "cool factor", I'd pass on the ipad and go for a tablet laptop.

I would have to go with the tablet too. If you are going to do it, why not do it with a computer.