Is a softbox a softbox?

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by CxThree, Apr 5, 2009.

1. CxThree

CxThree TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hi,

I am fairly new to studio shooting. I have played around wiht my 3 light umbrella setup and am ready to play with some softbox shots. As usual, the prices of softboxes are all over the place. I see some cheapo ones on ebay. I see some very high priced ones on many sites.

What is the key to look for when shopping for one? Any particular brand a better solution than the others (Considering quality vs price)?

2. inTempus

inTempus TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I've only owned one brand, Paul Buff (Alien Bee).

They aren't expensive and they're very high quality in my view. I say that never having owned a really expensive softbox mind you.

AlienBees: Foldable Softboxes

You also can't beat the Alien Bee warranty. They take care of their customers.

Everything in my studio (light related) is Alien Bee. So far I'm extremely happy with the quality. But then Alien Bee's are popular with hobbyist photographers for a reason!

Here's some of my Bee's stuff including a shot of one of my softboxes to the right.

[​IMG]

3. Garbz

Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I would say yes softboxes are softboxes. They are all pretty much the same from the effect but my guess is would differ in usability. The material used to diffuse them is fairly standard, and like cheap vs expensive umbrellas the price determines how long they will last some abuse rather than how good the resulting image will be.

4. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Some softboxes have a 2nd diffusion screen, which can reduce the hot spot and give you a more even light. Some have a little bit of a lip (shade or hood) that helps direct and constrain the light better than others.