Is it worth it to go to school for photography?

JbleezyJ

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.jflophotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Or would it better just to learn from others and own your own and just jump into the field and save that college money on equipment and investing on starting things up yourself?

I love photography and I want to do it for a living I just don't know where to start to actually try and make a living from it. For those of you who are making a living being a photographer I'd like some advice.

Depends on you but why pay for something you can learn from books and practice? It doesn't involve a diploma. Just my opinion.

Depends on what kind of learner/student the person is too. If you pick up things very quickly etc. I'm sure one of the proffesionals will chime in.

I'll tell you right now hallmark school of phoptography is 60 G's for 10 months

I love photography and I want to do it for a living
Well, do you have any idea about the type of photography you want to do for a living? If you want to run your own business, then a business education would probably be a lot more beneficial than a photographic education. If you want to work directly for another company, then it may not matter, but having the education credentials might help land that type of job (although skill & talent will probably trump credentials).

Either way, photography isn't one of the trades that requires education & certification, like Doctors, Lawyers, Engineers, Electricians etc. But it usually doesn't hurt to get some education.

It's just I want to do photography and my mom wants me to get a college degree and I don't feel like I need to go to college for photography but then again what if I don't make it in the photography field. I'm just unsure of what I should do.