Mistaken for a professional?

marmle

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This happened to me a long time ago, I'm talking 12 years or so, but I thought I would share it all the same.

I was at a concert and had taken my camera along for the meet and greet and album signing at the end. At the end of the concert I was approached by a man who I think owned the venue (cant remember exact details) and asked if I was a photographer (I was holding a Nikon D80 at the time) I was not sure what to say, so I just stumbled and said, "erm, yeah, kinda" (Well it was true, kinda!) He gave me an email address and asked me to send some pictures to him for his website, so I did. I did not hear back so I guess he was not that impressed.

I suspect you were "mistaken" for a potential source of free images. This is something that happens more and more these days; people see someone with a camera and try and get something for nothing. I wouldn't be at all surprised if he took the images and used them, and didn't bother to respond.

cool story?

had that happen in 2005 in Montana.
Up at Cut Bank old Airport was a car show.
I showed up with my Minolta 7D and was taking pics. Was challenged by a couple of security guards, then when I stopped at the Ford re-vamp of the Pantera, (Ford GT) I took pics.
The Sales rep got my name and e-mail and eventually I sent them to him of the interior.
He did e-mail me back saying he used them on the screenshot of his computer, but I suspect they made posters for bragging rights that they had the car on their showroom.