Moving sub

karastage

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am trying to get this look and I need help! I am a beginner when it comes to photography, but work a lot with photoshop. I have tried a bunch of different aperture settings to get this and I can't seem to make it happen. I own a Canon Rebel T5, lenses 18-55mm, wide angle 58mm and zoom 75-300mm. The lowest I can get the aperture setting to go is 4.0. It seems that the only way to focus the dancer is by letting her leap in the air and let the camera autofocus and then do it a second time and take the photo. I can buy whatever lenses I need. :) I just need a leaping dancer in focus and a nice blurry background. Any advice would be appreciated!
photography1.jpg

Please don't post photos that are not your own - post a link.
It's a small depth of field. It's done in a couple of ways, the most common being a small aperture. She is also moving so a fast shutter and some panning helps top keep her "still".

This is my photo. I own the rights to it, which is why I posted it. I have a signed contract with both the dancer and the photographer. And I did the editing on the photo. I cannot get my aperture below 4 with the lenses and the camera I have, and others have told me that I may need to go below that. So I need help :)

Sorry, I misunderstood.
You can decrease DOF by using a larger aperature or by increasing magnification. You can try getting closer to the dancer, otherwise get a faster lens. Check your AF settings (I'm not familiar with Canons so check the manual) and pan with the dancer as she jumps.

A 70-200mm 2.8 lens might be a good investment. Your other option, assuming you can control the shoot, move the dancer further away from the background.

Sent from my N9518 using Tapatalk

Shoot with the 70-300 at 300mm, maximum aperture. Prefocus where she will leap, then turn off the AF.