michalslowik

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi viewer! :)

My name is Michał Słowikowski and I'm from Poland (you can call me Michael). I'm interested in studio photography and I hope to do it for a living.

I'm practicing since about 3 months (thanks to my dad who let me convert one of school classrooms into a photo studio for a holiday time which unfortunately came to an end) so I guess I'm a newbie and this is the place I should start showing my work off. :)

Here are some photographs I have taken so far. All the work from start to finish (including retouching) was done by me. No makeup, no stylization.

Comments and feedbacks from people who know something about studio photography would be highly welcomed.

70569947.jpg

14406906.jpg

I'll be posting new pictures everyday so stay tuned. :)

Regards,
M.S.

The pose makes her look like she despertately needs to go take a leak, but the lighting is sure nice.

I don't care for the lighting, the sharp shadow edges. I think the light should have been modified to wrap just a bit more. I also fault the way the outline of his head gets lost in the background camera right. Rembrant lighting, a soft rim light , or a soft hair light from above and behind would not detract from a manly pose while adding just enough touch of background separation.

His eye isn't sharply focused, and the light needed to be brought forward just enough to light his entire eye socket, and/or you could have had him turn his head ever so slightly to the right without adding any tilt towards the low shoulder, and raise his chin a touch while still looking directly into the lens.

Thanks for the comment, KmH.

The pose from the first photograph was inspired by a fashion photograph of Ben Bassu - American photographer. I never thought of it this way.