Need advice on first DSLR, preferably weather sealed

rjackh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am brand new to cameras. I do a lot of outdoor activities (hunting, fishing, camping, hiking, canoe trips, etc) and I would like something I can take with me. I would like something weather sealed so I don't have to worry about an occasional splash or light drizzle while outdoors. I also want something I can grow into because I have been wanting to get into photography for a few years; I am tired of using my point and shoot or phone. Do yall have any recommendations? I have looked at the Pentax K30 and Nikon D7000 online. Still trying to learn all this terminology and how they rate cameras, but I feel like the Nikon would be a better route since there is more lenses and accessories available. I will probably go with a kit to start off and learn, then get more lenses later on. Any insight would be appreciated, thanks.

Nikon D7000 vs Pentax K-30 - Our Analysis

For a light drizzle or occasional splash, weather sealing is not needed.
DSLR cameras that don't have weather sealing have sufficiently tight joints for those conditions.

Image stabilization (IS) in the camera has both advantages and disadvantages over in the lens image stabilization.
Advantages:
Every lens mounted on the camera can be image stabilized.
The IS is only purchased once, per camera.

Disadvantages:
IS cannot be used to stabilize the image in a DSLR camera viewfinder.
IS cannot be used to stabilize the image that is projected to a DSLR phase-detection auto focus system that uses a secondary.
If IS stops working, no lens can then be stabilized.
The image circle a lens projects has to be bigger to account for the image sensor moving around providing the IS.