Need some advice on buying an enlarger

hughesdih

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm wanting to buy an enlarger. Does anyone have any advice on buying one? Things to consider/look for? Specific models? I'm a poor college student so price is a real limitation. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

if its just for 35mm black n white any enlarger will do, as with cameras a decent lens is what you need, the enlarger is just a light source, get one off ebay, cheap as chips, if you need colour then get one with a densitometer/timer and dial in filters built in, all decent makes will do,(fuji,durst,LPL etc) hope this helps. H

there are a wide variety enlargers available these days at very cheap prices.

I would suggest you think about what formats you will be using, not just now but in the future.

When reviewing used enlargers look for several things that are important:

light tight bellows (if they have them)

is it in alignment

what type of light source are you looking for? a color head can be used for both color and black and white, while a cold light head or condensor head will need additional color filters if you want to print color as well as black and white.

Be sure it has the negative carrier (s) as some off brand enlargers may create problems with finding replacement parts.

Beseler, Omega, Saunders enlarger parts are easy to find .

Because of the available number of enlargers that can be found these days i would op for a professional model rather than a consumer model. They are better built and even if they are old will out last most of us.

I've got the Beseler 23c and I love it. Sturdy and well built, I paid $40 for it from some guy selling it on craigslist. Look around and you'll find something you'll like.

I've also got a beseler, cheap and functional, but now I'm looking for one to handle 4x5 as I foolishly got a large format camera.

Now all my 35mm looks.......like 35mm.:grumpy: