Needing a new digital camer

boardersdc

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
i'm an intermediate photographer, and high school senior. i have most practice with black and white film using an SLR and printing in the darkroom, however for snapshots and with friends i use my kodak easyshare LS743. it's satisfactory, but not what i want. the pictures look great on a computer, but printed at 8x10 or 4x6, you can tell that it's digital, it looks computerized and fake, plasticy if you know what i mean. the flash over exposes at close range, like if i were to hold the camera at arms length for a self-portrait and under-exposes at short distances away. to compensate i turn off the flash and set the ISO to 400, but many times the shots come out blurry.

i've noticed that canon's digital elf SD series has a good flash using my friend's cameras. pc magazine raved over the kodak LS7530, one step up from my current camera, but i'm worried it has the same flash problems.

i'm looking to spend around $200 to get a camera with good flash, and good image quality that i can use for memories, and for art and exploration. i want good quality without the digital-ized look on the prints. i want crisp and rich just like i get from my black and white photos.

any advice on what camera to get?

also, how do i post a photo on the forums to have people critique it? do you just copy/paste??

Welcome to the forum.

I really don't think that you will be satisfied with a $200 camera. Pretty much every point & shoot digital camera has the same probelm...the sensor is very small. That makes it hard to get big, good looking prints...even with 6 or 7 mega pixels. Also, the flashes are usually under powered but even worse, they are very close to the lens....which makes for ugly lighting.

Most magazines rave about a lot of crap...I wouldn't put much stock into that. At best, you can compare the features of different cameras.