New to Photography! Help please? :)

eksigned

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys, how are ya?

I'm relatively new to the world of photography; I started roughly a 3 months ago. I've gone from the D60, to the D5000, and finally to my current camera: the D90. Who knew that photography was SO expensive!

I was hoping to have a few questions answered, seeing that I'm an amateur, and everyone here is so PRO! :D

I recently purchased a D90, body only. I'm having a really hard time deciding what sort of lens to purchase. I'm a car freak, and I mainly shoot cars. But I also take pictures of friends, family, and landscape. I'll post some of my pictures down below later. Can someone recommend me a decent walk around lens? I'm looking to spend around $400; used. I was debating on purchasing new, but I was told that when it comes to lenses, whether or not they're new or not, doesn't matter; hence the reason why I bought my camera NEW. I've been looking at a few 18-105's and a few 18-135 on craigslist...no luck. I'd love to have Nikon's 18-200, but it doesn't seem to fit into my camera budget. Any suggestions???! Anything would be GREATLY appreciated. Anything I should be particularly careful of when I purchase? It's all so confusing...:blushing: Oh and is it okay to purchase "older" lenses, as long as they're still compatible? A lot of craigslist/various websites. The older lenses, I mean the older body styles with "analog." THANKS AGAIN!!!

Thanks,
Eric

DSC_0281-1.jpg

DSC_0274copy.jpg

DSC_0171-1.jpg

DSC_0160-1.jpg

DSC_0160copy.jpg

DSC_0152copy.jpg

DSC_0099copy.jpg

DSC_0063-1.jpg

DSC_0061-1.jpg

DSC_0034-2.jpg

DSC_0210-1.jpg

CSC_0286.jpg

DSC_0340.jpg

DSC_0105.jpg

well i'm a newb too but heres what i think.

first off. you upgrade fast lol. i could probably afford a d90 by now but i would have just the body lol. no lenses or all my lighting gear.