New Toy New Toy!!

srinaldo86

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I succumbed to an impulse purchase just minutes ago... The Marine Corps Exchange had a perfectly good Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III on the clearance shelf for $161.99 (tax free!) Seeing as I've been desiring a new lens for a while now because the kit lens just doesn't satisfy my desires so, I bought it.

Anyways, I've already done test shots to see the capabilities and compare them to my 18-55mm.

Here are the test shots - Flickr: srinaldo86's Photostream

Should I return this lens and save for a more expensive one? I'm no professional so the quality is about what I expect to get for the money.

I succumbed to an impulse purchase just minutes ago... The Marine Corps Exchange had a perfectly good Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III on the clearance shelf for $161.99 (tax free!) Seeing as I've been desiring a new lens for a while now because the kit lens just doesn't satisfy my desires so, I bought it.

Anyways, I've already done test shots to see the capabilities and compare them to my 18-55mm.

Here are the test shots - Flickr: srinaldo86's Photostream

Should I return this lens and save for a more expensive one? I'm no professional so the quality is about what I expect to get for the money.

For that price keep it. you can't get much better than that. Its 200 at retail. Only gripe I have with it is the f-stop isn't low enough for my needs and it isn't stabilized but there are ways to compensate for that like raising the ISO or using faster shutter speeds so I guess it isn't too big of a deal.

I would not return it. You now own a lightweight 75-300 zoom. It's yours, free and clear, and you can keep moving it forward as you continue in your photographic journey. It's now another tool you own. Sure, there are bigger, better, badder lenses, but now you own a 75-300 that's light,small,and decent.