Newbie here but wandering what's out there!

CAG76

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I still consider myself very new at this photography thing or new to D-SLRs rather. I am learning so much on this site, and actually I still consider taking some photography classes. Right now photography is a hobby, but I really feel it could become something serious!

Now here's the thing. When it comes to photography, what would be a way to get started or to get my name out there? I don't know if there is any type of demand for this or not, but I am mostly interested in taking pictures that people would want mounted or framed to put on their walls. First being a collection of images already taken, then I can take any requests like if someone want's pictures taken of maybe people they know, animals they own or certain objects or maybe a certain area... you name it, I can take it and produce a poster, or picture framed or mounted. Is this a good direction.

I found a really good mounting company to do my mounting and they do such an amazing job with amazing materials for a fair price! I am talking elegant looking stuff. Things that would be sold in stores!

Perhaps should I have a gallery somewhere to attract attention?

Thanks for any help, people!

-Christopher

Great! I will try that! One thing that is tough for me, is how do I know when my photography is good enough? First of all, I am not at all getting my feelings hurt by people in the forum. Now I said that to say this... that I love the critiques and tips, but someone always has something to say about everything I post. So how do I know when it could just be a matter of taste. Some people like some things, but not all. You know? Maybe one might say that a particular photo is just bad, and 20 people like it!

I guess that is my big concern. I look at few photos I take and think they look pretty good, but how do I know they ARE good?