Newbie here, flash dilemma

B800 or SB600 for off-camera flash newbie?

• B800

Votes: 3 50.0%
  • SB600

Votes: 3 50.0%

• Total voters

whtge8

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys, first post here! Ive been shooting for about 6 months now. My uncle sold me a Nikon D60 with a 17-70mm Sigma lens and an SB600 flash for $700. Couldnt pass that up. Ive been doing really basic stuff but recently my friend did a photoshoot of my car recently which inspired me to get some sort of flash.

Now the dilemma I have is that I could just use my SB600 off-camera with some receivers, but that would require me to buy a pretty expensive tall tripod. But the pro's is that its battery powered.

My second option is to get the Alien Bees beginner kit which comes with a B800, stand, and an umbrella for $350, but I wont be able to go too far since I cannot afford portable power.

Im still somewhat new to the photography scene so im thinking that the SB600 will be 'good enough', but with everything I need to buy for it like the stand, umbrella, receivers, etc... That it will almost go up to the price of just getting an Alien Bees. What do you guys think is the best option for me? Hoping to do mainly outdoor portraits when its dark out.

SB600 is around 250 on amazon last time i checked!!!! look it up

I already have a SB600. I was just wondering if with all the money im spending to use the SB600 off-camera, I would be better off with an B600 from Alien Bees.

Oh my bad!!! i still like the portability of the sb600, and i have no experience with the B400, sorry!

N.gif
What do you use it for mainly?

Look for inexpensive 8- to 10-foot light stands at places like Adorama.com, and consider that for off-camera flash work, dedicated,camera-brand-specific flash units are absolutely NOT needed. Something older, and lower-tech, like Vivitar 285HV flashes,with slaves or wireless receivers, makes a lot of sense.