Newbie, what editing software to buy for Mac?

Wildlife girl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a newbie to digital photography with a new Mac as well. I will be buying some editing software in a few months and don't know what to buy.

I don't have a lot of money to spend, so I can't afford Photoshop, but could afford Photoshop Elements. But, what about Aperture 2 or Photoshop Lightroom 2.0? I am confused about what program would be right for me.

Opinions welcomed! :D

Hello,
Actually, I would like to know as well. I have been really stuck with deciding which program to use. I was planning on purchasing Aperture 2, but I also like onOne Software Mask Pro 4. Would Photoshop have all of these? Or would it be better to purchase those two separately?

Thank you.

aperture is good, i dont use it for editing but i do use it for spotting, you can layer images and spot as many as you like with one click.

it has crop, and exposure controls, colour settings. I suppose aperture and photoshop are two different programs, if you want basic controls then aperture is good.

If you are looking for a program that allows you to airbrush, remove items and people and create effects then photoshop is the way to go.

Over elements and aperture I would go for aperture but im sure some one will produce a good argument for elements

i would not recommend aperture. i have it, i NEVER use it. PS4 is out now, if you cant get that, at least PS3. Photoshop is extremely superior to aperture and allows the user extreme flexibility in all facets of the digital darkroom.

however, if you'd like to buy aperture, i have a copy for sale. :lol:

If you couldn't afford Photoshop, and your not allowed an under the table version, what would you use?

i would illegally download it. and you're totally allowed an under the table version. whatever you do, don't use iphoto either. when it comes to filing your images, iphoto will be the first to **** it up.