Nikon D300 upgrade... HELP

DylanColon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm sitting here in confusion not quite sure what to upgrade to.

Basically I need a camera that will work beautifully with HDR and architecture. Low light performance would be nice, but usually I'll be working on a tripod or with a flash. My D300 is really being pushed to the limit with mid range ISO values and it's starting to bug me.

I can't exactly afford an FX Nikon right now, even though the D600 is super tempting. I'm a poor college student who is going to get some help with Christmas money from my parents.

I am contemplating jumping ship and getting the 5D MKII simply because it is a cheap full frame, and the video performance is gorgeous.

I am also contemplating just getting the D7000 and calling it a day, then I won't have to lose my lens kit (70-200mm f2.8, 17-55mm f2.8) because I had to sell it for a wide angle FF lens and the body of an FF.

Another option is Sony's NEX-7. The image quality is fantastic from that little beast, and I do have experience with mirrorless already (I also own a GF1). I'm a little iffy about the switch to Sony though.

Should I just wait for the D400 that's expected to be announced in January?

SO MANY OPTIONS! Thank you so much for any help.

Here's most of my old work. I need to get a real portfolio website where I can upload my newest shots for architecture and whatnot. 500px / Dylan Colon / Photos

Budget?
Primary use?
What lenses do you already have?

You say you want a camera that can do HDR and architecture, but HDR is more about software then camera and architecture performance is more about lens then camera. Especially if you're working on a tripod, as you can just increase the shutter speed instead of jumping the ISO.

Answer those questions above and we should be able to give you much better recommendations.