Portraits of my girlfriend, novice photographer C&C Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

SJ_PhotoG

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I'm a somewhat new photographer (6 months) and just received my first off camera lighting kit last week. I would like some C&C on my portraits that I took within the past 3 days. They were taken with the gear in my sig. Thanks for any C&C and taking the time out to view my photos. One thing to keep is mind is that she is very light skinned (porcelain skin) so her skin might appear to be overexposed but it is not. All the best.

I want to build up my skills in this craft known as photography as smoothly as possible so any advice is greatly appreciated.

Do you have an umbrella or softbox? The flash in these are fairly harsh on a few. THere are a few that are good. Way to many to go through. 5 is my limit when I have a ton of spare time.

Do you have an umbrella or softbox? The flash in these are fairly harsh on a few. THere are a few that are good. Way to many to go through. 5 is my limit when I have a ton of spare time.

Umbrella, the flash isn't harsh. If you read my post you would have read that she has porcelain skin aka very, very light skin. If I dial my aperture up so that its letting less light in and lowering the flash's power her skin tone ends up being underexposed. I already tested this as I thought the flash was too much myself but it's set just about right for her skin tone.

Umbrella, the flash isn't harsh. If you read my post you would have read that she has porcelain skin aka very, very light skin. If I dial my aperture up so that its letting less light in and lowering the flash's power her skin tone ends up being underexposed. I already tested this as I thought the flash was too much myself but it's set just about right for her skin tone.

Oh sorry, you've got it all covered.

No, it's definitely harsh flash. Light skin is skin tone. Harsh flash is harsh flash.