Question about filters

wharvey86

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am relatively new to this whole Dslr thing and i just purchased a sony a300. Well in my search for new accessories for my camera i have run into a question. How much difference is there between a cheap filter and a really expensive one? For instance i saw a circular polarizer and nuetral density filter at circuit city for only $15 each and then i have seen some online that cost a few hundred dollars. I am wondering what is the difference between these filters? I am by no means a pro photographer i just do it as a hobby on the weekends. So would it be better for me to go with the cheapies so i can have a bigger variety of filters or should i spend the extra $40-50 for the better know named filters?

I am relatively new to this whole Dslr thing and i just purchased a sony a300. Well in my search for new accessories for my camera i have run into a question. How much difference is there between a cheap filter and a really expensive one? For instance i saw a circular polarizer and nuetral density filter at circuit city for only $15 each and then i have seen some online that cost a few hundred dollars. I am wondering what is the difference between these filters? I am by no means a pro photographer i just do it as a hobby on the weekends. So would it be better for me to go with the cheapies so i can have a bigger variety of filters or should i spend the extra $40-50 for the better know named filters?

The main difference are structural, glass quality and coatings.

Structural. The cheapest have plastic mounting. Worthless. Better have metal, usually aluminum. The best have brass. I have yet to ever have a brass filter get stuck on a lens.

Glass. The cheapest use plastic or glass. Better have optical plastic or glass. The best have either best have seriously high quality optical glass or Resin filters.