Question about High-Speed Photography Using Flash

Nicodemus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Okay. So I'm trying out some high-speed photography (for water droplets, etc) using a setup that I think is recommended elsewhere on this forum. I use a pitch-dark studio, set the camera to have an exposure of about ten seconds, then in the middle of the exposure click the flash. Here's the problem: it's waaaay over-exposed, practically completely white. I've tried messing with ISO settings, but it doesn't seem to help. I'm a major newbie at photography, so don't know much about using a flash. For practice (thank God) I've been using a digital camera, so I'm not wasting film, but I can't figure it out. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong? :blushing: Thanks.

If it's over exposed that's because there's too much light getting to the sensor (as you'll already know). To reduce the amount of light getting there you can reduce the amount of light present (turn down the flash or move it further away), reduce the sensitivity of the sensor (drop the iso to a lower number), restrict the amount of light reaching the sensor (increase the f number) or a combination of the three.

What aperture is the camera set at? Aperture size will control the amount of light getting to the sensor from the flash. Try different settings, I'd go with mid range to small aperture to maximize your DOF. F8-F22 something like that.

As Ferny said, you can set the ISO low and move the flash farther away. Light falls off exponentially as the distance is increased.

You can put something at the same point you will take the picture and let the camera adjust the settings when its using the flash.Then you use those settings when making a shot of the drop.
You will have to use minimal light for that.

Silkfire said:
How do you set the ISO speed?
Any decent digital camera will have the option to set the ISO. HOW, depends on the make & model.