Question for a shoot I have today

Guinness Man

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Im shooting this girl with a city line background. the city line is across the bay. So its a good distance from her

In order to get them both in focus I would use an aperture as wide as I can get, but are there any other tricks to make her pop and keep everything in focus?

Actually you want a narrow aperture (larger f/#) not wider. Wider apertures result in less DOF.

To make her 'pop' you could light the foreground so it exposes 1/2-1 stop above the background.

so shoot at an f15 or something?

I can use my SB-900 to light her up

Hi, I'm fairly new to this as well, and loving it! :) I agree with the above poster - you want a nice, narrow aperture to get the best depth of field. I'd try several shots, and raise your f-stop in increments until you get the effect you're most happy with.

What time of day will you be shooting? I'm not a huge fan of flash photography if I can avoid it (personal preference), and do you have a tripod? To help your subject pop from the background, maybe you could experiment with some lighting or reflectors?

Best of luck! :)

No the smaller the hole the more things are in focus. The bigger hole something like 2.8 lets a lot of light in really quickly and you get a shallow DOF. When you shoot at something like f/16 it's a pretty small hole and takes a bit longer for the same amount of light to get in and hit the sensor. This gives you a larger area that's in focus. You want a small circle. That is why when you shoot at something like f/1.4 or 1.2 there is such a shallow DOF it might look like the whole shot is out of focus. Hope that helps.
TJ

thanks

in this photo:
http://www.photoreview.com.au/reviews/digitalslr/D5000_LCD_graphic.jpg

the f stop is at 5.6 and the yellow circle is the size it is.
If I go to f15 or whatever the circle gets smaller. wont that result in a smaller DOF meaning less background in focus?