Ran across a man..

Unmanedpilot

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Who stated that he did not believe digital photography is photography.

I believe highly photoshoped images need to be in their own category, especially if initially taken with a digital camera. Matter of fact, I don't even consider digital capture as photography. Photographs created with a digital sensor I consider to be "Digital Imagery".
Of course, the end result of "photographs" and "digital imagery" are prints. So when it gets right down to it the prints achieve the same goal, to showcase images for people to view, critique, debate, and ponder.

I've been doing photography since 1988, both as an enthusiast and a pro. The question is what is photography? Photography has been around since around 1820. Up until around 2002 most people were still using film and darkrooms. So up until that time that was photography. So digital sensors come onto the scene and all of a sudden its labeled photography because you still capture an image using a camera and a lens.

The word "photography" comes from the Greek word (phos) which means light + (graphis) which means "stylus" or "paintbrush" meaning "drawing with light." Ok, I buy that its photography in the sense that you paint with light but digital photography only encompasses half of what traditional photography did for 180 years!! Traditional photography used the darkroom to pass light through a negative, to project a latent image onto a paper coated with silver halide. It took intelligence, a brain, a skill learned through books or a class to know how to expose film properly, develop it, and create a permanent or semi permanent photograph. With traditional photography, you "painted with light" literally from start to finish. In digital "photography", you only capture an image on a digital sensor and then the process of photography that mankind knew for roughly 180 years ends right there.