RE photography job

bug72

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm not sure this is in the correct forum but here goes. I applied for a job doing some RE photography. I'm not a professional photographer but have loved taking photo's of various sorts of architecture.

I interview for it and they look at my work on some local homes. They like it and say they are talking to a bunch of other photographers too.
3 weeks later I get an email from the RE company and they are holding a "contest", all the photographers in the running for the job are to go and take some images of the same RE listing.

Just before getting the email I got injured (at a dog park!) and end up dislocating my knee. I'm on crutches and had the leg in a full brace that won't let me bend my knee. So I email the RE place and tell them I was interested in the job but due to the leg can't do it.
But I did go and look at the house. Lordy. It was an ugly, dark, small, foreclosed on ranch built in the 1950's and probably never updated. Honestly it was a disaster. I was glad I opted out. Now this agency does have some higher end homes too.

So I assume I'm out of the running but yesterday I get an email from the RE agency and they said the people that did the "contest" had the most underwhelming group of photo's they had ever seen. Honestly with that house I don't know how it could be otherwise.

But they did say they loved the work I brought in to the interview and would like to talk to me again. (the leg is still on the mend, i'm off crutches and in a movable brace but getting around still has ups and downs). They really said they want someone to think out of the box and do some really creative work. They want to really "stand out from the crowd." I just need the job!